Public hospital, private clinic, birthing center, home birth: which place to choose?

Baby lying on his stomach in the maternity ward

MotherStories lists hospitals, private clinics and birth centers where you can give birth in French-speaking Switzerland.

You're pregnant and don't know where to go yet? Take the time to read our various articles, interviews and moms' testimonials below to give you a clearer idea of your options. You can then choose the one that best suits your situation, your geographical area, your insurance coverage, your pregnancy (normal, multiple, at risk), your birth plan and your feelings.

If you have any questions, doubts or need advice, or if you would like to share a useful and sincere account of your place of birth, please contact us.

Please note that this list is not exhaustive and is refined day by day thanks to the information you send us, so keep it up!

#sharingiscaring

For more information and to discover the advantages of each birthplace, click on the colored blocks below:

What are the advantages of giving birth at home?

Why give birth at home? Women choose to give birth at home for a variety of reasons, depending on their personal preferences, medical situation and beliefs. The main motivation is the desire for a physiological birth, in an intimate, warm and calm environment, without medical intervention or painkillers such as epidurals. Read more

12 misconceptions about pregnancy, childbirth and the postpartum period!

Maternity clichés are hard to dispel! Whether it's from friends or family, social networks or Google searches, we hear and read all kinds of things... In order to shed some light on the subject, we have, with the help of the midwives at the Clinique Générale-Beaulieu maternity hospital, selected and debunked 12 preconceived ideas about Read more

What are the advantages of giving birth in a birthing center?

Since the dawn of time, childbirth has always taken place at home, between women. However, obstetrics has become a medical specialty, and since the 60s, the majority of births have taken place in hospitals. In the 70s, women began to make their voices heard, seeking to regain control over several areas of Read more

What are the advantages of giving birth in a public maternity hospital?

Labor & Delivery When giving birth in a public maternity hospital, it is not possible to bring your own gynecologist. If all goes well, the midwives will accompany you during labor and help you deliver your baby. The gynecologist on call will only intervene in the event of a complication (use of instruments, etc.) or Caesarean section Read more

What are the advantages of giving birth in a private maternity hospital?

Labor & Delivery The main difference between giving birth in a private maternity hospital and in a public maternity hospital is the presence of your gynecologist on D-day. The midwives will accompany you throughout labor, but it's your gynecologist who will be present for the final pushes and baby's delivery. In public maternity hospitals, the Read more

Marlène's BirthStory: mother of Alexis 3.5 years and Noémie 10 months.

Our "Behind the scenes of childbirth" series comes to a close with Marlène's lovely BirthStory. She gave birth to her son Alexis and daughter Noémie at the Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Two very different pregnancies and two very different births. We're delighted to share this story with you Read more

How do you deal with postpartum emotions?

MotherStories takes you behind the scenes of a birth at Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Throughout the year, you'll discover our Interviews highlighting the different players present during childbirth and the role of each one before, during and after the birth. Today, we're talking about managing post-partum emotions with Muriel de Lire plus

How do you manage pain during childbirth?

MotherStories takes you behind the scenes of a birth at Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Throughout the year, you'll discover our Interviews highlighting the different players present during childbirth and the role of each one before, during and after the birth. Today, we're talking about pain management with midwife Blandine Castella Read more

The benefits of acupuncture during pregnancy, childbirth and the postpartum period.

Acupuncture is an ancient Chinese therapeutic method. Using fine needles inserted in very precise locations, it heals and regulates the body's energy flow. Acupuncture is a real ally during pregnancy, childbirth and the post-partum period. It can relieve and heal a wide range of physical and emotional ailments. Read more

Annabel's BirthStory at GHOL's new maternity ward in Nyon

Annabel is a bubbly 26-year-old mom who gave birth to little Mia just over a year ago at the GHOL maternity hospital in Nyon. Her state of mind and positivity enabled her to approach her birth with serenity. "Women have been giving birth since the dawn of time .

The nursing auxiliary profession

MotherStories takes you behind the scenes of a birth at Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Throughout the year, you'll discover our Interviews highlighting the different players involved in a birth and the role of each one before, during and after the birth. Today, find out more about the often shadowy yet essential job of caregiver Read more

The midwifery profession

MotherStories takes you behind the scenes of a birth at Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Throughout the year, you'll discover our Interviews highlighting the different players present during childbirth and the role of each one before, during and after the birth. Today, find out more about the wonderful profession of midwife with the Interview with Marion Read more

The profession of nursery nurse

MotherStories takes you behind the scenes of a birth at Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Throughout the year, you'll be able to discover our Interviews highlighting the different players involved in childbirth, and the role each plays before, during and after the birth. Today, we're opening the ball with Pauline Guillot, nurse nursery nurse. Please introduce yourself Read more

Family Story: at 3 months old, our baby was in intensive care for several weeks with bronchiolitis.

When Corinne and Hassan explained what had happened to their youngest daughter, it was obvious to us that we would share their story in the hope that it would be read by as many people as possible. At 3 months old, Layssa was rushed to hospital with severe bronchiolitis. She recovered after 10 days Read more

Pre-eclampsia: Dr Berkane explains

Dr Berkane, can you tell us a little about yourself? I qualified as an obstetrician-gynecologist in 1993, and pursued my career in Paris for over 20 years, most of which as head of the Obstetrics Unit at Hôpital Tenon (APHP). Since 2014, I have been working in Geneva, first at the HUG and more recently at the Read more

Losing your baby at 34 weeks: Talia & David's ordeal

This week, we take a look at a sensitive and often taboo subject. Losing a child, regardless of the stage of pregnancy, is a heavy ordeal for parents. Talia is a mom and loyal member of the community who today found the courage to share her story and put words to the indescribable: the Read more

Justine gave birth to a very premature baby at 25 weeks' gestation.

We close a rich year of #motherstories with that of Justine, who gave birth to a very premature baby at 25 weeks' gestation. Martin, who weighed just 800 grams at birth, is now a healthy 2.5-year-old boy! A beautiful lesson in life that gives us strength, courage and hope, the Read more

BirthStory #3: Luana, a 36-hour marathon birth!

Throughout December, we'll be sharing some incredible and unique #birthstories with you. And yes, as the year draws to a close, we wanted/needed some lightness, joy and love. And what better way to do that than to celebrate life than by putting births in the spotlight! For our 3rd #birthstory, Luana will be Read more

BirthStory #1: Camelia, delivery at the HUG in a natural room.

Throughout December, we'll be sharing some incredible and unique #birthstories with you. And yes, as the year draws to a close, we wanted/needed some lightness, joy and love. And what better way to do that than to celebrate life than by putting births in the spotlight! We begin this series with the Read more

Home birth & birthing centers: we take stock!

The return to home births and birthing centers is a real social phenomenon, closely linked to the desire to be the main actress in this very special moment of birth. Hospitals are making more and more efforts in this direction, and are now offering Read more

Have you heard of the Brazelton method?

Take part in a unique conference on Saturday, March 17, 2018 entitled: "Coming into the world between nature and technology" organized by the Brazelton Center Switzerland. Read more

Hôpital public, clinique privée, maison de naissance, à domicile : quel lieu de naissance choisir ?

Bébé couché sur le ventre à la maternité

MotherStories référence pour vous les hôpitaux, cliniques privées et maisons de naissance où accoucher en Suisse Romande.

Vous êtes enceinte et vous ne savez pas encore où aller ou vous hésitez ? Prenez le temps de lire nos différents articles, interviews et témoignages de mamans ci-dessous pour vous donner une idée plus claire des options qui s’offrent à vous. Vous pourrez ensuite choisir celle qui convient le mieux à votre situation, votre zone géographique, la prise en charge de votre assurance, votre grossesse (normale, multiple, à risque), votre plan de naissance ou encore votre feeling.

Si vous avez des questions, des doutes, besoin de conseils ou pour partager, à votre tour, un témoignage utile et sincère sur votre lieu d’accouchement, contactez-nous.

Merci de noter que cette liste est non-exhaustive et s’affine de jour en jour grâce aux informations que vous nous envoyez, alors continuez !

#sharingiscaring

Pour plus d’informations et découvrir les avantages de chaque lieu de naissance, cliquez sur les blocs de couleur ci-dessous :

Accoucher en maison de naissance, quels avantages ?

Depuis la nuit des temps, l’accouchement s’est toujours déroulé à la maison, entre femmes. Pourtant, l’obstétrique est devenu une spécialité médicale et depuis les années 60, la majorité des accouchements ont lieu en milieu hospitalier. Dans les années 70, les femmes font entendre leur voix et cherchent à reprendre le contrôle sur plusieurs domaines de Lire plus

Accoucher en maternité publique, quels avantages ?

Suivi du travail & Accouchement En accouchant dans une maternité publique, il n’est pas possible de faire venir son gynécologue. Si tout se passe bien, les sages-femmes vous accompagneront pendant le travail et vous aideront à mettre votre bébé au monde. Le gynécologue de garde n’interviendra qu’en cas de complication (utilisation d’instruments…) ou de césarienne Lire plus

Accoucher en maternité privée, quels avantages ?

Suivi du travail & Accouchement La principale différence entre un accouchement en maternité privée et en maternité publique est la présence de votre gynécologue le jour J. Les sages-femmes vous accompagneront durant tout le travail mais c’est votre gynécologue qui sera présent pour les dernières poussées et la sortie de bébé. En maternité publique, le Lire plus

BirthStory de Marlène : maman d’Alexis 3,5 ans et de Noémie 10 mois.

Clap de fin sur notre série « dans les coulisses d’un accouchement » avec la très jolie BirthStory de Marlène qui a mis au monde son fils Alexis et sa fille Noémie à la clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Deux grossesses et deux accouchements très différents dont elle garde un magnifique souvenir. Nous sommes très heureuses de partager avec vous Lire plus

Comment gérer les émotions du post-partum ?

MotherStories vous emmène dans les coulisses d’un accouchement à la Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Tout au long de l’année, vous découvrirez nos Interviews mettant en lumière les différents acteurs présents lors d’un accouchement et le rôle de chacun avant, pendant et après la naissance. Aujourd’hui, on parle de la gestion des émotions en post-partum avec Muriel de Lire plus

Comment gérer la douleur durant l’accouchement ?

MotherStories vous emmène dans les coulisses d’un accouchement à la Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Tout au long de l’année, vous découvrirez nos Interviews mettant en lumière les différents acteurs présents lors d’un accouchement et le rôle de chacun avant, pendant et après la naissance. Aujourd’hui, on parle de la gestion de la douleur avec Blandine Castella, sage-femme Lire plus

Les bienfaits de l’acupuncture pendant la grossesse, l’accouchement et le post-partum.

L’acupuncture est une méthode thérapeutique chinoise ancestrale. Elle consiste, grâce à de fines aiguilles insérées à des endroits très précis, de soigner et de réguler le flux énergétique du corps. L’acupuncture est une vraie alliée pendant la grossesse, l’accouchement et le post-partum. Elle permet de soulager et soigner de multiples maux physiques et émotionnels. Pour Lire plus

BirthStory d’Annabel à la nouvelle maternité du GHOL à Nyon

Annabel est une jeune maman pétillante de 26 ans qui a donné naissance à une petite Mia il y a tout juste une année à la maternité du GHOL à Nyon. Son état d’esprit et sa positivité lui ont permis d’appréhender son accouchement avec sérénité. « Les femmes donnent la vie depuis la nuit des temps Lire plus

Le métier d’aide-soignante

MotherStories vous emmène dans les coulisses d’un accouchement à la Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Tout au long de l’année, vous découvrirez nos Interviews mettant en lumière les différents acteurs présents lors d’un accouchement et le rôle de chacun avant, pendant et après la naissance. Aujourd’hui, découvrez-en plus sur le métier souvent dans l’ombre et pourtant essentiel d’aide-soignante Lire plus

Le métier de sage-femme

MotherStories vous emmène dans les coulisses d’un accouchement à la Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Tout au long de l’année, vous découvrirez nos Interviews mettant en lumière les différents acteurs présents lors d’un accouchement et le rôle de chacun avant, pendant et après la naissance. Aujourd’hui, découvrez-en plus sur le merveilleux métier de sage-femme avec l’Interview de Marion Lire plus

Le métier d’infirmière puéricultrice

MotherStories vous emmène dans les coulisses d’un accouchement à la Clinique Générale-Beaulieu. Tout au long de l’année, vous découvrirez nos Interviews mettant en lumière les différents acteurs présents lors d’un accouchement et le rôle de chacun avant, pendant et après la naissance. Nous ouvrons aujourd’hui le bal avec Pauline Guillot, infirmière puéricultrice. Peux-tu te présenter Lire plus

Family Story : à 3 mois, notre bébé est resté plusieurs semaines aux soins intensifs suite à une bronchiolite.

Quand Corinne et Hassan nous expliquent ce qui est arrivé à leur fille cadette, il était évident pour nous que nous allions partager leur histoire en espérant qu’elle soit lue par un maximum de personnes. A 3 mois, Layssa est emmenée en urgence à l’hôpital, elle souffre d’une bronchiolite sévère. Elle guérit après 10 jours Lire plus

Pré-éclampsie : explications du Dr Berkane

Dr Berkane, pouvez-vous vous présenter en quelques mots ?Gynécologue obstétricienne diplômée en 1993, j’ai poursuivi ma carrière à Paris pendant plus de 20 ans dont la plus grande partie en tant que responsable de l’Unité d’Obstétrique à l’hôpital Tenon (APHP). Depuis 2014, je travaille à Genève, d’abord aux HUG et depuis peu à la clinique des Lire plus

Perdre son bébé à 34 SA de grossesse : l’épreuve de Talia & David

Cette semaine, nous abordons un sujet sensible et encore trop souvent tabou. Perdre un enfant, qu’importe son stade de grossesse, est une lourde épreuve pour les parents. Talia est une maman et membre fidèle de la communauté qui a trouvé aujourd’hui le courage de partager son histoire et mettre des mots sur l’indescriptible : la Lire plus

Justine a accouché à 25 SA d’un grand prématuré

Nous terminons une riche année de #motherstories avec celle de Justine qui a accouché à 25 SA d’un grand prématuré. Martin qui ne pesait que 800 grammes à sa naissance est aujourd’hui un petit garçon de 2,5 ans en pleine forme ! Une belle leçon de vie qui nous donne force, courage et espoir, le Lire plus

BirthStory #3: Luana, un accouchement marathon de 36h !

Tout au long du mois décembre, nous allons partager avec vous d’incroyables et uniques #birthstories. Et oui, en cette fin d’année si particulière, nous avions envie/besoin de légèreté, de joie et d’amour. Pour cela, quoi de mieux que de célébrer la vie en mettant les naissances à l’honneur ! Pour notre 3e #birthstory, Luana nous Lire plus

BirthStory #1: Camelia, accouchement aux HUG en salle nature.

Tout au long du mois décembre, nous allons partager avec vous d’incroyables et uniques #birthstories. Et oui, en cette fin d’année si particulière, nous avions envie/besoin de légèreté, de joie et d’amour. Pour cela, quoi de mieux que de célébrer la vie en mettant les naissances à l’honneur ! Nous commençons cette série avec la Lire plus

Accouchement à domicile & maison de naissance : on fait le point !

Le retour aux accouchements à domicile & maisons de naissance est un véritable phénomène de société et est étroitement lié à la volonté d’être, à juste titre, l’actrice principale de cet instant si particulier qu’est une naissance. Les milieux hospitaliers font de plus en plus d’efforts pour aller dans ce sens en proposant désormais des Lire plus

Connaissez-vous la méthode Brazelton ?

Participez à une conférence unique le samedi 17 mars 2018 intitulée : « Venir au monde entre nature et technologie » organisée par le Centre Brazelton Suisse. Lire plus