The benefits of healthy algae during pregnancy and post-partum.

For mothers-to-be and new mothers, certain types of seaweed are particularly interesting for making up for deficiencies or repairing damage. Extremely rich in micro-nutrients, with very high assimilation rates, algae (beyond the well-known spirulina) are recognized for their benefits during pregnancy, post-partum and general health.

Johanna Rohrbasser holding an Algorigin product
Johanna Rohrbasser

To answer our questions, we set out to meet the Geneva-based brand Algorigin, a Swiss specialist in healthy algae created by Dr Gérald Langel, a pioneering doctor in micronutrition in Switzerland, and his son Renaud Langel.

What is healthy algae?
We're not talking about edible algae, such as sushi seaweed or the seaweed found on the beaches of Brittany in France. We're talking about micro-algae, plants that have been essential to the food chain for millions of years. Most of them are harvested from lakes or cultivated in ponds, benefiting from an ecosystem that is particularly conducive to optimal development.

A growing number of studies have demonstrated the full potential of healthy algae, rich in nutrients and micronutrients: essential amino acids, essential fatty acids, complex carbohydrates, antioxidants, enzymes and nucleic acids.

Which healthy seaweed do you recommend during pregnancy?
Omega 3 DHA seaweed for two reasons. Firstly, DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) is involved in the development of the baby's nervous system from the5th month of pregnancy and after birth until the baby is 6 months old. Secondly, DHA is also highly effective in preventing post-partum depression. One study shows a link between low levels of DHA in breast milk and the development of post-partum depression.  

Why take an interest in healthy seaweed in the post-partum period?
It fills the gaps left by our lifestyles and the depletion of nutrients and micronutrients in our diet. They are of great therapeutic interest, especially after childbirth. 

Is it possible to take spirulina after childbirth to make up for iron deficiencies?
Spirulina is a natural solution that has the advantage of avoiding the unpleasant effects of traditional treatments (nausea, constipation, intestinal pain...). For greater effectiveness, we recommend Spirulina IRON which is 6x richer in iron than traditional spirulina and highly assimilable by the body. Studies show that the iron in Algorigin brand Spirulina FER is as well assimilated as the iron in red meat.

Another seaweed to recommend?
AFA Klamath, a blue algae rich in micro-nutrients. It stimulates the release of stem cells in the body, which can promote cell repair, for example after an episiotomy. The algae AFA Klamath is also recognized for its ability to boost morale by acting on dopamine, thanks to its high PEA content, known as the "happiness molecule".

Klamath AFA does not act specifically on post-partum depression like its sister Omega 3 DHA algae, but it will help to modulate mood, support motivation and concentration. It will therefore be ideal for minimizing the effects of falling hormones, the famous baby blues.

Are seaweeds compatible with breast-feeding?
Healthy seaweeds are often recommended and prescribed during the post-partum period, including for breast-feeding mothers. Unlike other natural solutions, there is no risk of overdosing or toxicity with health algae. They do not cause drowsiness or dependency. 

Talk to your midwife or doctor, or contact one of our micro-nutritionists directly online at Algorigin. You'll have free access to personalized advice from experts in healthy algae.  

Algorigin range

Algorigin future and new mother packs:

Algorigin health algae are sold individually on algorigin.com and in many pharmacies and drugstores in Switzerland.

From April 27 to 30, 2021, enjoy 10% off your order with promo code motherstories.

Find out more about postpartum on the blog.

Article co-written with the Algorigin team
www.algorigin.com
info@algorigin.com

Les bienfaits des algues santé durant la grossesse et le post-partum.

Pour les futures et les jeunes mamans, certaines algues sont particulièrement intéressantes pour combler des carences ou pour réparer. Extrêmement riches en micro-nutriments, avec des taux d’assimilation très élevés, les algues (au-delà de la spiruline que tout le monde connaît) sont reconnues pour leurs bienfaits durant la grossesse, le post-partum et la santé de manière générale.

Johanna Rohrbasser qui tient un produit Algorigin
Johanna Rohrbasser

Pour répondre à nos questions, nous sommes parties à la rencontre de la marque genevoise Algorigin, spécialiste suisse des algues santé créé par Dr Gérald Langel, médecin pionnier de la micronutrition en Suisse et par son fils Renaud Langel.

C’est quoi une algue santé ?
Nous ne parlons pas ici des algues alimentaires, telles les algues à sushis ou les algues que l’on retrouve sur les plages de Bretagne en France. Nous parlons de micro-algues, des végétaux indispensables à la chaîne alimentaire depuis des millions d’années. Elles sont récoltées dans les lacs pour la plupart ou cultivées en bassins, elles bénéficient d’un écosystème particulièrement propice à un développement optimal.

Les études se sont multipliées et ont démontré tout le potentiel des algues santé, riches en nutriments et micro-nutriments : acides aminés essentiels, acides gras essentiels, glucides complexes, antioxydants, enzymes, acides nucléiques.

Quelle algue santé conseillez-vous pendant la grossesse ?
L’algue Oméga 3 DHA pour deux raisons. Premièrement, le DHA (acide docosahexaénoïque) intervient dans le développement du système nerveux du bébé dès le 5e mois de grossesse et après la naissance jusqu’aux 6 mois du bébé. Deuxièmement, le DHA est également très intéressant pour agir en prévention de la dépression post-partum. Une étude montre un lien entre une faible teneur en DHA dans le lait maternel et le développement de la dépression post-partum.  

Pourquoi s’intéresser aux algues santé en période de post-partum ?
Elles comblent les carences consécutives à nos modes de vie et à l’appauvrissement de notre alimentation en nutriments et micronutriments. Elles ont un fort intérêt thérapeutique surtout après l’accouchement. 

Est-il possible de prendre de la spiruline après un accouchement pour combler des carences en fer ?
La spiruline est une solution naturelle qui a l’avantage d’éviter les effets désagréables que l’on peut avoir avec des traitements traditionnels (nausée, constipation, douleurs intestinales…). Pour plus d’efficacité, nous recommandons la Spiruline FER qui est 6x plus riche en fer que la spiruline traditionnelle et hautement assimilable par notre organisme. Les études montrent que le fer de Spiruline FER de la marque Algorigin est aussi bien assimilé que le fer contenu dans la viande rouge.

Une autre algue à conseiller ?
L’AFA Klamath, une algue bleue très riche en micro-nutriments. Elle stimule la libération des cellules souches dans l’organisme ce qui peut favoriser le processus de réparation cellulaire par exemple après une épisiotomie. L’algue AFA Klamath est reconnue aussi pour sa capacité à soutenir le moral en agissant sur la dopamine, grâce à sa richesse en PEA appelée  » molécule du bonheur ».

L’AFA Klamath n’agit pas spécifiquement sur la dépression post-partum sa sœur l’algue Oméga 3 DHA mais elle va aider à moduler l’humeur, soutenir la motivation et la concentration. Elle sera donc idéale pour minimiser les effets de la chute d’hormones, le fameux baby-blues.

Est-ce que les algues sont compatibles avec l’allaitement ?
Les algues santé sont souvent conseillées et prescrites pendant le post-partum y compris aux mamans qui allaitent. Avec les algues santé, contrairement à d’autres solutions naturelles, il n’y a pas de risque de surdosage ni de risque de toxicité. Elles ne causent pas de somnolence ni de dépendance. 

N’hésitez pas à en parler à votre sage-femme, à votre médecin ou à contacter l’un de nos micro-nutritionnistes directement en ligne sur le site Algorigin. Vous aurez accès gratuitement à un conseil personnalisé avec des experts des algues santé.  

Gamme Algorigin

Les packs futures et jeunes mamans Algorigin :

Les algues santé Algorigin sont vendues à l’unité sur algorigin.com et dans plusieurs pharmacies et drogueries en Suisse .

Du 27 au 30 avril 2021, profitez de 10% de rabais sur votre commande avec le code promo motherstories.

Retrouvez plus d’informations sur le post-partum sur le blog.

Article co-écrit avec l’équipe Algorigin
www.algorigin.com
 info@algorigin.com

À lire aussi /