Justine gave birth to a very premature baby at 25 weeks' gestation.

We close a rich year of #motherstories with that of Justine, who gave birth to a very premature baby at 25 weeks' gestation. Martin, who weighed just 800 grams at birth, is now a healthy 2.5-year-old boy! A beautiful lesson in life that gives us strength, courage and hope, the winning trio to start the New Year.

Justine, can you introduce yourself in a few words?
I'm 32 years old and live in Blonay in the canton of Vaud with my partner Jérôme and our 2 ½ year old son Martin. I worked for 10 years in the tourism sector before turning to another field I'm passionate about, theater. I've been working in the administration of a Foundation for 4 years at 60% and the rest of the time I take care of Martin.

Did you get pregnant easily?
Yes, I was lucky. After 9 years with Jérôme, we felt ready to start a family. I stopped taking the pill and we waited a few months before trying to get off the pill. 10 months after stopping, during a trip to Japan, Martin was conceived (smile). I didn't realize right away that I was pregnant, because like every month, I had bleeding which I thought was my period, but which turned out to be the beginning of a pregnancy.

At what point were you told that your pregnancy was at risk?
At no point! I had a new gynecologist who I'd only seen once before getting pregnant. At 9 weeks, I had my first hemorrhage, which took me to the emergency room. I was sure I was having a miscarriage, but it was a false alarm. Then my gynecologist told me that my placenta was a bit low but that it could go up until the 32nd week, so there was nothing to worry about. My gynecologist was a bit too chill and underestimated the situation.

Did you then have a2nd hemorrhage?
Yes, around the 21st week. This time, my gynecologist asked me to go to the CHUV for further examination. In their opinion, the haemorrhage was due to placenta previa, but there was nothing alarming. After 48 hours, I went home.

No one seemed to be stressed?
Except my partner and I, no one! What's more, they'd already told me that I'd have to have a caesarean section because my baby was breech, whereas I was dreaming of having a natural birth.

At 5 ½ months pregnant, you and Jérôme head off to the south of France for a final getaway for two. The 3 of you finally returned 2 1/2 months later. What happened?
Before leaving, I went to see my gynecologist to ask him whether it was reasonable to leave or not. As I wasn't bleeding any more, apart from a few discharges, he gave me the go-ahead. After 2 days in the Luberon, I wasn't feeling very well. Nevertheless, we decided to stay our last night in Marseille as planned. The next day, I woke up bleeding. The SAMU came to pick me up at the hotel and take me to hospital.

What do you think at that moment? Do you realize what's happening?
It's a total surprise, you don't know where you're going to end up. What's more, there was a big misunderstanding about my stage of pregnancy, given that Switzerland and France don't calculate pregnancy in the same way! For them, I was 26 weeks and I kept saying 25. In this case, one week's difference had an impact on the decision as to which department I would be hospitalized in.

What did the doctors tell you?
It was a bit of a panic because I was losing a lot of blood. They told me about a corticosteroid injection to speed up the maturation of the baby's lungs, but I didn't want that. For me, it was unthinkable that I should give birth now. We decided to call the CHUV for a second opinion, but they told us we had to do it. We spent Friday day and night in observation. Jérôme slept on an armchair so as not to abandon me.

The next day, we called Rega to see if a repatriation was possible, but then I started bleeding like never before. Everything went very fast! They had no choice but to prepare me as if I were going to have a C-section (catheter, urinary catheter...).

At that point, was the baby viable?
I was convinced it wasn't, it was awful. Surprisingly, the team was quite positive. They reassured us that things could go well, and that they had many success stories. A pediatrician from the neonatal unit came to explain how the delivery would go if it were to take place now, and what the post-partum care would be (intensive care, intubation, incubator...).

When you realized you were about to give birth, what did you feel?
A lot of fear, but when they told me this time to go to the operating room, I felt almost relieved despite the fear. I was lucky in my misfortune to be conscious when Martin arrived. They were adorable. The atmosphere was relaxed. Jérôme couldn't stay, but he was in the adjoining treatment room.

It all happened very quickly. Martin came out and first win, he screamed (smile). We didn't know the sex, so that was a surprise. I couldn't do skin-to-skin because, at that moment, every second counts. They took him into the room where Jérôme was, and I found myself all alone.

I really wasn't psychologically ready. I felt so empty.

I still lost a lot of blood. They discovered that I had an ACCRETA placenta, which means that a small part of it was adhering to my uterus. Gynecologists hate this because it's very difficult to deal with when it's discovered during childbirth. I was lucky that it was only a small piece. So they left it in for the time being.

What was the atmosphere like in the OR once Martin was out?
It was really intense! There was a team looking after me and a team looking after Martin in the next room. They were communicating by phone. I could hear: "your baby is 900 grams". 900 grams! As it turned out, he weighed only 800 grams...

Did you have to undergo another operation immediately to remove the placenta?
Yes, and it had to be done quickly, as only a radiological surgeon could intervene. In my misfortune, I was lucky enough to be able to see my son while waiting for my transfer. I was able to take him with me, which normally never happens, and we were able to forge our first bond.

I then went to the hospital annex for this very specific and delicate operation. Basically, they told me it was double or nothing and that after 3 unsuccessful attempts, my uterus would have to be removed.

At this point, everything is such a blur. I don't know if my baby will live, I don't know if I'll keep my uterus, I don't know anything, I'm helpless.

Once Martin was born, how long were you going to have to stay in hospital?
The doctors initially told us 1 month, but in the end we stayed more than 2 months.

Did your family and friends know?
Only our immediate family knew. I gave birth at 4.40 in the morning, and by 5 they were all there. There were never more than two of us around the baby. Parents and grandparents + siblings exclusively. My sister couldn't have seen him, but they made an exception. My mom stayed for 10 days and came back every time Jérôme had to go back to Switzerland, which happened twice. Fortunately, he's independent and was able to arrange to work from Marseille. I stayed 12 days in hospital and then in a Ronald McDonald House next door.

How did you get started with Martin? What was his care like?
He was in an incubator, intubated, had a central catheter to receive chemical food, a nasogastric tube, electrodes, patches... In short, he was hooked up to everything, with very stressful beeps at first. As soon as a machine beeped, we wondered if something serious was happening, even though it could be insignificant.

After 36 hours, I was able to skin him, the first of many. Every day, when his condition allowed it, we wore him as a kangaroo.

What does a premature baby look like?
Like a little baby mammal. A miniature, fully formed but so fragile, all hairy and thin-skinned. He may have been 30 cm long, but curled up he looked so small. At first, we're not going to lie, it's very impressive and difficult. You have to get used to the machines beeping all over the place. Sometimes, the nurses had to stimulate Martin because premature babies forget to breathe. They are often desaturated and apneic.

Great whipworm in incubator

Did the medical team listen to you and explain developments on a day-to-day basis?
The medical team was really great. We quickly bonded with them. You have to realize that our baby's life was in their hands. We were with them for 2 months. With Jérôme, we needed to understand the situation for ourselves, the doctors' terms, the manipulations to do or not to do. I needed to be an actor, not a spectator. The more the weeks went by, the more confident we felt about handling Martin. How to unplug him, take him in our arms, plug him back in. In France, parents are given freedom more easily and quickly, which is important for creating bonds and feeling like parents as quickly as possible.

How did the long-awaited return to Switzerland go?
We were due to return at the end of May, 2 months after Martin's birth, but the day before we were due to leave, we had a big scare! There was a complication in his intestine. We had to go back to the intensive care unit where they re-intubated him. He had enterocolitis, a part of his intestine that was starting to necrose. We almost lost him. We were very, very scared. This time, the doctors weren't at all reassuring, so much so that the pediatrician had tears in her eyes. But Martin, our warrior, pulled through! He survived.

After a few days, we had the OK to return. We called Rega again, who had been checking up on us regularly since our first telephone conversation. They've been incredible! I can tell you that it's with great pleasure, and now with great gratitude, that we pay our contributions. Within 24 hours, everything was organized. The ambulance ride to the airport and then the plane with all the necessary medical equipment. A doctor and a nurse specialized in neonatology and a Rega nurse arrived with everything they needed! The team in Marseille were stunned, because they don't have such resources... They put Martin in the incubator, hooked up to everything. I stayed with him the whole time. Jérôme returned to Switzerland with my mother in our car. When we landed, an ambulance was waiting on the tarmac to take us to the CHUV.

Emotionally, it must have been strange to leave after so much time spent in hospital?
Oh yes! As I was saying, the medical team did an exceptional job. I owe Martin's life to them. We spent so many hours there. We went through so many emotions that to leave, this time for good, was a blow. Relieved, of course, but a little nostalgic.

How long did Martin have to stay at the CHUV?
We knew that he would have to stay at the CHUV for at least another month, until the initial due date of July 16. He was not yet respiratory independent. Jérôme and I returned home (finally) and went back and forth every day.

So, Martin's room wasn't done?
Strangely (or perhaps a sign), we'd planned ahead. We'd already bought everything for his room. We even had the baby carriage (smile). We just had to finalize the decor to make it as cosy as possible.

Were you able to breastfeed Martin?
As soon as he was born, I took out my colostrum and they gave it to him by syringe. Then I was able to pump my own milk, which they gave him (through a tube) for 2 months in Marseille. Expressing milk many times a day is demanding and time-consuming. But knowing that breast milk is gold for them, I was happy to do it, thinking it was the least I could do for him. We started breastfeeding when we got back to Switzerland and it went quite well. I breastfed him until he was 1 year old.

When and how did the BIG return home for the 3 of you take place?
July 23 (smile). It felt strange to find the three of us home alone. No more medical team, no more machines, just us, two parents who, like all parents in the world, felt a little stressed, but we quickly found our feet.

We come home with a newborn, but he's already 3 months old, we know him.

What's maternity leave like with a large preemie?
It's a big problem! Maternity leave would have started on the day of the birth, which would have meant that I would have had to start work again before Martin even got home, which was quite unthinkable! We were therefore able to postpone maternity leave so that it would start on the day Martin came home. But during the months of hospitalization, no insurance covers the mother's salary. There's a sort of gray area (which will no longer be the case from 2021, thanks to the federal law to support family carers). We've been extremely lucky because my employer has continued to pay me, and I'm very grateful for his generosity!

How is Martin today at 2 ½ years old?
Super well (smile). He has no after-effects, he's never sick. I only go to the pediatrician for his annual check-ups. So far he's progressed very well and caught up with his growth curve.

What's your relationship like?
We're very close, but I try not to overprotect him. It's important to me that he can blossom like any other child. I find it hard to have someone else look after him, I must admit. We were advised not to put him in daycare for the first two years, if at all possible, to protect his immune system. So we worked it out between his grandmother, his dad and me.

And how are you? And your relationship?
Physically, it's been a long time coming. 3 months after my first operation, I had to have it done again, but this time it worked! The bit of placenta that had remained inside me has finally gone.

Emotionally, it wasn't easy. We were so afraid of losing Martin that all our attention was on him and we completely forgot about ourselves, but little by little we're taking time for ourselves again. Jérôme has incredible strength of character. He was my rock through all these trials. He made me laugh and always saw the positive side.

Today, I can say that this ordeal has taught us a lot. It strengthened us and allowed me to reveal myself.

What advice would you give to parents who are going through this today?
Every story is so different. My mantra was: trust & patience. We had "prepared" ourselves for the possibility of losing our son. You have to put all your trust in your baby. They're the real warriors, and we can support them as best we can by giving them all the energy and strength we have. The medical environment is scary at first. You have to tame it and turn it into an ally. Despite the situation, it's important not to be "robbed" of your place as parents, and to assert it. 

If you had to define motherhood in one word?
Surprise, because you're never prepared for what lies ahead. And love.

Justine, what's the best thing we can wish you today for tomorrow?
May our whole family remain in good health, and if we have a2nd pregnancy, may it go well and reach term.

Story : Justine a accouché à 25 SA d’un grand prématuré

Nous terminons une riche année de #motherstories avec celle de Justine qui a accouché à 25 SA d’un grand prématuré. Martin qui ne pesait que 800 grammes à sa naissance est aujourd’hui un petit garçon de 2,5 ans en pleine forme ! Une belle leçon de vie qui nous donne force, courage et espoir, le trio gagnant pour entreprendre 2021.

Justine, peux-tu te présenter en quelques mots ?
J’ai 32 ans, j’habite à Blonay dans le canton de Vaud avec mon compagnon Jérôme et notre fils Martin de 2 ans ½.  J’ai travaillé pendant 10 ans dans le secteur du tourisme avant de me tourner vers un autre domaine qui me passionne, le théâtre. Je travaille dans l’administration d’une Fondation depuis 4 ans à 60% et le reste du temps je m’occupe de Martin.

Es-tu tombée facilement enceinte ?
Oui, j’ai eu de la chance. Après 9 ans avec Jérôme, on se sentait prêts à fonder une famille. J’ai arrêté la pilule et nous avons attendu quelques mois avant d’essayer afin de me libérer des substances de la pilule. 10 mois après son arrêt, lors d’un voyage au Japon, Martin a été conçu (sourire). Je n’ai pas compris tout de suite que j’étais enceinte car comme chaque mois, j’ai eu des saignements que je pensais être mes règles mais qui se révélèrent être un début de grossesse.

A quel moment, on t’a annoncé que ta grossesse serait à risque ?
A aucun moment ! J’avais un nouveau gynécologue que je n’avais vu qu’une fois avant de tomber enceinte. A la 9e semaine, j’ai fait une première hémorragie qui m’a conduite aux urgences. J’étais sûre de faire une fausse couche mais fausse alerte. Puis, mon gynécologue m’a annoncé que mon placenta était un peu bas mais qu’il pouvait remonter jusqu’à la 32e semaine donc pas d’inquiétude à avoir. J’avais un gynéco un peu trop chill qui a sous-évalué la situation.

Tu as fait ensuite une 2e hémorragie ?
Oui, vers la21e semaine. Cette fois, mon gynécologue m’a demandé d’aller au CHUV pour faire un examen plus poussé. Pour eux, l’hémorragie était due au placenta prævia mais qu’il n’y avait rien d’alarmant. Au bout de 48h, je suis repartie chez moi.

Personne n’avait l’air de stresser ?
Exceptés mon conjoint et moi, personne ! En plus, ils m’avaient déjà annoncé que l’accouchement devrait sûrement se faire par césarienne car bébé en siège alors que moi je rêvais d’accoucher le plus naturellement possible.

A 5 mois ½ de grossesse, vous partez Jérôme et toi dans le sud de la France pour une dernière escapade à deux. Vous rentrerez finalement 2 mois et demi plus tard à 3. Que s’est-il passé ?
Avant de partir, je suis allée voir mon gynéco pour lui demander si c’était raisonnable de partir ou pas. Comme je ne saignais plus à part quelques pertes, il m’a donné son okay. Après 2 jours dans le Luberon je ne me sentais pas très en forme. Nous avons tout de même décidé de séjourner notre dernière nuit à Marseille comme prévu. Le lendemain, je me réveille en sang. Le SAMU est venu me chercher à l’hôtel pour m’amener à l’hôpital.

Qu’est-ce que tu penses à ce moment-là ? Tu réalises ce qu’il se passe ?
C’est la surprise totale, on ne sait pas où on va atterrir. En plus, gros quiproquo pour dire mon stade de grossesse étant donné qu’en Suisse et France on ne calcule pas de la même manière ! Pour eux j’étais à 26 semaines et moi je persistais à dire 25. En l’occurrence, une semaine de différence impactait la décision du département où j’allais être hospitalisée.

Que vous disaient les médecins ?
C’était un peu la panique car je perdais beaucoup de sang. Ils m’ont parlé d’une piqure de corticoïdes afin de permettre d’accélérer la maturation des poumons du bébé mais je ne voulais pas. Pour moi, il était impensable que j’accouche maintenant. On a décidé d’appeler le CHUV afin d’avoir un deuxième avis mais ils nous ont dit qu’il fallait le faire. On a passé la journée et la nuit du vendredi en observation. Jérôme dormait sur un fauteuil pour ne pas m’abandonner.

Le lendemain, on a appelé la Rega pour voir si un rapatriement était possible mais j’ai ensuite commencé à saigner comme jamais. Tout est ensuite allé très vite ! Ils n’avaient plus le choix que de me préparer comme si j’allais avoir une césarienne (cathéter, sonde urinaire…)

Est-ce qu’à ce moment le bébé était viable ?
Moi j’étais persuadée que non, c’était affreux. Étonnamment, l’équipe était plutôt positive. Elle nous a rassurée en nous assurant que ça pouvait très bien se passer et qu’ils avaient eu de nombreuses success stories. Une pédiatre de la néonat est venue nous expliquer comment l’accouchement allait se passer s’il devait avoir lieu maintenant et quels seraient les soins post-partum (soins intensifs, intubation, incubateur…).

Quand tu as compris que tu allais accoucher, qu’as-tu ressenti ?
Beaucoup de peur mais au moment où on m’a dit cette fois, il faut aller au bloc, je me suis sentie presque soulagée malgré la peur. J’ai eu la chance dans mon malheur d’être consciente quand Martin est arrivé. Ils ont été adorables. L’ambiance était détendue. Jérôme n’a pas pu rester mais il était dans la salle de soins attenante.

Tout a été très vite. Martin est sorti et première victoire, il a crié (sourire). On ne connaissait pas le sexe, ça a été la surprise. Je n’ai pas pu faire de peau à peau car, à ce moment, chaque seconde compte. Ils l’ont emmené dans la pièce où était Jérôme et je me suis retrouvée toute seule.

Je n’étais vraiment pas prête psychologiquement. Je me suis sentie si vide.

J’ai encore perdu énormément de sang. Ils ont découvert que j’avais un placenta ACCRETA c’est-à-dire qu’une petite partie adhérait à mon utérus. Les gynécologues détestent ça car c’est très difficile à gérer lorsque c’est découvert au moment de l’accouchement. J’ai eu la chance que ce ne soit qu’un petit bout. Ils l’ont donc laissé dans un premier temps.

Quelle était l’atmosphère au bloc une fois que Martin est sorti ?
C’était vraiment intense ! Il y avait une équipe qui s’occupait de moi et une équipe qui s’occupait de Martin dans la pièce d’à côté. Ils communiquaient par téléphone. J’ai pu entendre : « votre bébé fait 900 grammes ». 900 grammes !!! Il s’avèrera qu’au final il ne pesait même que 800 gr…

Tu as dû subir immédiatement une autre intervention pour enlever le bout de placenta ?
Oui et il fallait aller vite et ils ne pouvaient pas le faire sur-place car seul un chirurgien radiologue pouvait intervenir. Dans mon malheur, j’ai eu la chance, dans l’attente de mon transfert, de pouvoir aller voir mon fils. J’ai pu le prendre sur moi ce qui normalement n’arrive jamais et nous a permis de créer un premier lien.

Je suis ensuite partie à l’hôpital annexe pour cette opération très spécifique et délicate. En gros, ils m’ont dit que c’était quitte ou double et qu’après 3 tentatives infructueuses, il faudrait enlever mon utérus.

A ce moment, tout est tellement flou. Je ne sais pas si mon bébé va vivre, je ne sais pas si je vais garder mon utérus, je ne sais rien, je suis désemparée.

Une fois Martin né, combien de temps vous alliez devoir rester à l’hôpital ?
Les médecins nous ont dit d’abord 1 mois mais au final on est resté plus de 2 mois.

Vos proches et amis étaient au courant ?
Seule notre famille proche était au courant. J’ai accouché à 4h40 du matin, à 17h ils étaient là. On n’était jamais plus de deux auprès du bébé. Les parents et grands-parents + fratrie exclusivement. Ma sœur n’aurait pas pu le voir mais ils ont fait une exception. Ma maman est restée 10 jours et est revenue à chaque fois que Jérôme devait rentrer en Suisse ce qui est arrivé 2 fois. Heureusement, il est indépendant et a pu s’organiser pour travailler depuis Marseille. Je suis restée 12 jours à l’hôpital et après dans une Maison Ronald McDonald juste à côté.

Comment ce sont passés vos débuts avec Martin ? Quels étaient ses soins ?
Il était dans un incubateur, intubé, il avait un cathéter central pour recevoir la nourriture chimique, une sonde nasogastrique, des électrodes, des patchs… Bref, il était branché de partout avec des bips bips au début très stressants. A peine une machine sonnait qu’on se demandait si quelque chose de grave était en train d’arriver alors que cela pouvait être insignifiant.

Au bout de 36h, j’ai pu faire un peau-à-peau, le premier d’une longue série. Tous les jours, quand son état le permettait, nous le portions en kangourou.

A quoi ressemble un bébé prématuré ?
A un petit bébé mammifère. Une miniature, tout bien formé mais si fragile, tout poilu avec une peau fine. Il avait beau faire 30 cm, recroquevillé il paraissait si petit. Au début, on ne va pas mentir c’est très impressionnant et difficile. Il faut apprivoiser les machines qui bipent de partout. Parfois, les infirmières devaient stimuler Martin car les bébés prématurés oublient de respirer. Ils sont souvent en désaturation et en apnée.

Grand-prématuré sous couveuse

Est-ce que l’équipe médicale était à votre écoute et vous expliquait au jour le jour les évolutions ?
L’équipe médicale était vraiment super. On a rapidement créé des liens avec eux. Il faut se rendre compte que la vie de notre bébé était entre leurs mains. On n’a côtoyé qu’eux pendant 2 mois. Avec Jérôme, on a eu besoin de comprendre par nous-mêmes la situation, les termes des médecins, les manipulations à faire ou ne pas faire. J’avais besoin d’être actrice et non pas spectatrice. Plus les semaines passaient, plus on se sentait en confiance pour manipuler Martin. Comment le débrancher, le prendre dans nos bras, le rebrancher. En France, ils laissent plus facilement et rapidement de la liberté aux parents ce qui est important pour créer des liens et se sentir parent le plus vite possible.

Comment s’est passé le retour tant attendu en Suisse ?
On devait rentrer fin mai soit 2 mois après la naissance de Martin mais la veille du départ grosse frayeur ! Il y a eu une complication au niveau de son intestin. On a dû retourner au service de réanimation où ils l’ont ré-intubé. Il a eu une entérocolite soit une partie de son intestin qui commençait à nécroser. On a failli le perdre. On a eu très très peur. Cette-fois, les médecins n’étaient pas du tout rassurants à tel point que la pédiatre avait les larmes aux yeux. Mais Martin, notre guerrier s’en est sorti ! Il a survécu.

Après quelques jours, on a eu le OK pour rentrer. On a rappelé la Rega qui depuis notre premier entretien téléphonique continuait à prendre de nos nouvelles régulièrement. Ils ont été incroyables ! Je peux vous dire que c’est avec plaisir et désormais une grande reconnaissance que nous payons nos cotisations. En 24h, tout était organisé. Le trajet en ambulance jusqu’à l’aéroport puis l’avion avec tout l’équipement médical nécessaire. Il y avait un médecin et une infirmière spécialisés en néonatologie et un infirmier de la Rega qui sont arrivés avec tout le nécessaire ! L’équipe à Marseille a halluciné car eux n’ont pas de tels moyens… Ils ont mis Martin dans l’incubateur, branché de partout. Je suis restée avec lui tout le long. Jérôme est rentré en Suisse avec ma mère dans notre voiture. A l’atterrissage, une ambulance nous attendait sur le tarmac pour aller au CHUV.

Émotionnellement, ça a dû te faire bizarre de partir après autant de temps passé à l’hôpital ?
Oh oui ! Comme je disais, l’équipe médicale a fait un travail exceptionnel. Je leur dois la vie de Martin. On a passé tellement d’heures là-bas. On est passé par tellement d’émotions que de partir, cette-fois pour de bon, ça m’a fait un coup. Soulagée bien sûr mais un peu nostalgique.

Combien de temps Martin a dû rester au CHUV ?
Nous savions qu’il devrait rester au CHUV encore au moins 1 mois, jusqu’à la date initiale du terme, soit le 16 juillet. Il n’était pas encore indépendant au niveau respiratoire. Jérôme et moi sommes rentrés chez nous (enfin) et avons fait les allers-retours tous les jours.

Du coup, la chambre de Martin n’était pas faite ?
Bizarrement (ou un signe), on s’y était pris vraiment à l’avance. On avait déjà tout acheté pour sa chambre. On avait même la poussette (sourire). On a juste dû finaliser la déco pour qu’elle soit la plus cosy possible.

As-tu pu allaiter Martin ?
A peine né, j’ai sorti mon colostrum qu’ils lui ont donné à la seringue. Puis, j’ai pu tirer mon lait qu’on lui donnait (par la sonde) pendant les 2 mois à Marseille. Tirer son lait de nombreuses fois tous les jours est astreignant et prend beaucoup de temps. Mais en sachant à quel le lait maternel est de l’or pour eux, je le faisais volontiers, je me disais que c’était la moindre des choses que je pouvais faire pour lui. On a commencé l’allaitement au sein en rentrant en Suisse et ça s’est plutôt bien passé. Je l’ai allaité jusqu’à ses 1 an.

Quand et comment s’est passé le GRAND retour à la maison tous les 3 ?
Le 23 juillet (sourire). Cela nous a fait bizarre de nous retrouver les trois à la maison seuls. Plus d’équipe médicale, plus de machines, juste nous, deux parents qui comme tous les parents du monde se sentent un peu stressés mais on a très rapidement trouvé nos marques.

On rentre avec un nouveau-né mais il a déjà 3 mois de vie, on le connait.

Comment se passe le congé maternité avec un grand préma ?
C’est un gros problème ! Le congé maternité aurait commencé le jour de l’accouchement ce qui fait que j’aurais dû recommencer le travail avant même que Martin ne rentre à la maison, ce qui était bien étendu impensable ! Nous avons alors pu repousser le congé maternité afin que celui-ci commence le jour du retour à la maison. Mais pendant les mois d’hospitalisation, aucune assurance ne prend en charge le salaire de la maman. Il y a une sorte de zone grise (ce qui ne sera plus le cas dès 2021 grâce à l’entrée en vigueur de la loi fédérale pour soutenir les proches aidants). Nous avons eu énormément de chance car mon employeur a continué à me payer, je suis très reconnaissante pour sa générosité !

Comment va Martin aujourd’hui à 2 ans ½ ?
Super bien (sourire). Il n’a aucune séquelle, il n’est jamais malade. Je ne vais chez le pédiatre que pour ses contrôles annuels. Pour l’instant il a très bien évolué et a rattrapé sa courbe de croissance.

Quelle est votre relation ?
Nous sommes très proches mais j’essaie de ne pas le surprotéger.  Il est important pour moi qu’il puisse s’épanouir comme tous les autres enfants. J’ai de la peine à le faire garder par quelqu’un d’autre je dois l’avouer. On nous avait déconseillé dans la mesure du possible de le mettre à la crèche les deux premières années pour protéger son système immunitaire. On s’est donc arrangés entre sa grand-maman, son papa et moi.

Et toi comment vas-tu ? Et ton couple ?
Physiquement ça a été long. 3 mois après ma première opération j’ai dû la refaire mais cette fois, ça a marché ! Le bout de placenta qui était resté en moi est enfin parti.

Émotionnellement, ce n’était pas évident. On a eu tellement peur de perdre Martin que toute notre attention était pour lui et on s’est complètement oubliés mais, petit à petit, on reprend du temps pour nous. Jérôme a une force de caractère incroyable. Il a été mon roc durant toutes ces épreuves. Il me faisait rire et voyait toujours le côté positif.

Aujourd’hui, je peux dire que cette épreuve nous a beaucoup appris. Elle nous a renforcé et m’a permis de me révéler.

Quels conseils donnerais-tu a des parents qui sont aujourd’hui en train de vivre cette situation ?
Chaque histoire est tellement différente. Mon mantra était : confiance & patience. On s’était « préparés » à peut-être perdre notre fils. Il faut mettre toute sa confiance en son bébé. Les vrais guerriers c’est eux et on peut les accompagner du mieux qu’on peut en leur donnant toute l’énergie et la force que nous avons. L’environnement médical fait peur au début. Il faut réussir à l’apprivoiser et à en faire un allié. Malgré la situation, il est important de ne pas se faire « voler » sa place de parents et de l’affirmer. 

Si tu devais définir la maternité en un mot ?
Surprise car on n’est jamais préparé à ce qui nous attend. Et amour.

Justine, que peut-on te souhaiter de meilleur aujourd’hui pour demain ?
Que toute notre famille reste en bonne santé et si 2e grossesse qu’elle se passe bien et qu’elle aille à terme.